turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Does Turbo Tax support filing taxes if you are living and working abroad with a greencard and never filed taxes in the states before? If so, how should i proceed?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

Does Turbo Tax support filing taxes if you are living and working abroad with a greencard and never filed taxes in the states before? If so, how should i proceed?

it depends. Are you a US citizen working abroad or a foreign national working in the US with a greencard?

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

I am a US permanent resident with a greencard but working abroad in Thailand. Please advise.

KarenJ2
Expert Alumni

Yes, you can use TurboTax to file your returns.  As a greencard holder you need to file a US 1040 tax return every year declaring your worldwide income.  

You can only use the physical presence test to qualify for the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion.  The maximum exclusion for 2019 is $105,900.  Besides the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion, you can also claim foreign tax credits on your US tax return to help offset double taxation.

Please see attached a IRS Publication that may be of some assistance.  Tax Guide for US Citizens and Resident Aliens Abroad

Please also note for fee payment, we can only accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover cards with a U.S. billing address.

Another option is to pay your fees with your federal refund, also known as Pay With My Refund (charges may apply).