Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Deducting travel expenses for charitable mission work

I'm a doctor and did a foreign medical mission trip run through a 501c3 nonprofit. I've looked through Turbotax and IRS Pub 526 and understand that my travel expenses for this trip are likely deductible but have a few questions.

Do I take the deduction in the year I incurred the expense or the year of the trip? ie book flights in 2022 for trip in early 2023, pay for hotel at checkout in 2023 - must the expenses from this trip be split across my 2022 and 2023 returns?

If I paid for an upgraded seat on my flight, any issue with deducting that as well as the base airfare?

If I had meals on the trip where I do not have an itemized receipt but can document the expense via a credit card charge on my statement, is that enough, or would claiming that be looking for trouble?

Thanks for your help!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

11 Replies

If travel is for a recognized charity those expenses are deductible in the year paid. Expenses should be ordinary and necessary so your upgrade would be problematic. See here for more information. 
https://blog.turbotax.intuit.com/tax-deductions-and-credits-2/deducting-travel-expenses-when-doing-c...

DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

Yes and please review this Turbo Tax presentation  on what volunteer expenses are deductible. You will deduct the expenses in the year these were paid since IRS bases these deductions on a cash year basis. The hotel expense would be reported in your 2023 return since it was paid in 2023.