Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts Retirement/Life Events! >> Event happening NOW!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

401k withdrawal and gross income

I understand that any withdrawals from 401k are considered income. I'm curious about its relation to my gross income.  For example, if I withdraw $20,000 from my 401k account, should I simply add it to my gross income when I file taxes next year?  I'm a self-employed contractor receiving 1099-NEC. So I'm curious. 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
dmertz
Level 15

Yes.  The amount that you use to pay taxes through withholding is still part of your taxable distribution.  You are taking the entire amount as a taxable distribution and then using some of the resulting cash to pay your taxes.

If you are over age 65 and depending on how much you might be collecting in Social Security benefits, you might be eligible for a Maryland pension exclusion that would reduce the amount of the 401(k) distribution that is subject to Maryland state and local income tax.  Also, to avoid an early-distribution penalty on a distribution from the 401(k) you would generally have to receive the distribution after reaching age 59½.

View solution in original post

The way it works is......