Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

rfroeh93

I live in Georgia but gain income from work out of state. Do i need to file a state tax for Georgia? I don't get any money from Georgia.

I work as a teacher if it matters.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

I live in Georgia but gain income from work out of state. Do i need to file a state tax for Georgia? I don't get any money from Georgia.

Yes, you do have to file a return in Georgia.  All income is taxable to your resident state!

"Full-year residents are taxed on all income, except tax exempt
income, regardless of the source or where derived. You are
required to file a Georgia income tax return if:
  • You are required to file a Federal income tax return;
  • You have income subject to Georgia income tax
  • that is not subject to Federal income tax;
  • Your income exceeds the standard deduction and personal exemptions as indicated below"

https://dor.georgia.gov/sites/dor.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/TSD/Form/2016_IT-511_Book...

You will file a nonresident return for the state you work in.  Prepare your nonresident return first, then your Georgia return.  You will be able to claim a credit for taxes paid to another state.

Please look at the following information:  

https://ttlc.intuit.com/replies/3300295

stepeter
Returning Member

And do not own property in GA - what are my requirements

TomD8
Level 15

If you are a resident of Georgia, all your income is taxable by Georgia - regardless of whether or not you are a property owner in Georgia.

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.
stepeter
Returning Member