Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Should I request my employer to withhold state tax for Maryland?

I will start a new job next week. The position is remote. The company is in Maryland. I will reside in Indiana but work remotely. I am a contractor. On Friday my employer told me that they couldn't withhold the state tax for Indiana for me. I am given 2 options: 1) they don't withhold any state tax for me  2) they withhold the state tax for Maryland. For both of the options, I need to hire a professional to help me. Could anyone give me any suggestions? What should I do in my case?

How much more percentage of state tax I need to pay compared to the situation that I reside and work in Indiana? Based on the link here: https://www.marylandtaxes.gov/individual/income/tax-info/index.php

"Nonresidents are subject to a special tax rate of 2.25%, in addition to the state income tax rate."

How should I do the math? 

Any suggestion is appreciated! Thank you in advance. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
TomD8
Level 15

@jonhai --

I apologize for being a nitpicker, but as a resident of Indiana you definitely are a non-resident of Maryland.

The issue is that Maryland taxes non-residents only on Maryland-source income.

Work income is "sourced" where the work is actually (physically) performed.  (There are a few exceptions but they are not relevant to your case.)

Since your work is actually performed in Indiana, your income from that work is Indiana-source income, and therefore not subject to Maryland state income tax.