Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Reportable wages to Michigan when working remotely from Tennessee

I currently live in Tennessee which has no income tax.  I have a part-time job in Michigan that I work tele-remotely.  For the entirety of 2023, I was a Tennessee resident and never set foot in Michigan; however, I noticed on my W-2 that I was paying income tax for the state of Michigan.  I contacted my workplace and they said they couldn't return the taxes withheld because they were already sent to the state.

Do I file an income tax return as a non-resident for Michigan and list the amount of income reportable to Michigan as $0 since I didn't earn a salary or wage while physically in Michigan.  The item below isn't very clear. Emphasis mine. 

Residents of All Other States

If you are filing as a resident of any other state and as a part-year or nonresident of Michigan, use the following guideline for determining the income attributable to Michigan:

Part-year residents enter salaries and wages received for the period you were a Michigan resident plus any wages earned in Michigan after your residency changed.

Nonresidents enter salaries and wages earned in Michigan.

NOTE: Taxes paid to local governments in Reciprocal states are eligible.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DMarkM1
Expert Alumni

Yes.  File a nonresident MI return and allocate zero (0) wages to MI in the "Income/Adjustments" section and the taxes withheld will be refunded. If you haven't already, be sure to have your employer stop the withholding for MI taxes going forward.