Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

LukeRow
Returning Member

Oklahoma non resident or part time resident issues

PLEASE HELP!

I'm so confused.

I'm a Texas resident who worked in Tulsa, Oklahoma from August to December 2020.  I'm not sure if this matters, but the company has a Kansas address listed on my W2 form.

I didn't notice this as I should have because I'm from a non income tax state, but for some reason, HR didn't deduct any Oklahoma state income tax from my pay for any month in 2020 (but is deducting it for the months I've worked in 2021).  I'm still waiting for a response from HR as to why this happened.

I made more than $1000 in OK and am trying to file my state taxes as I know I'll owe money, but BOTH TurboTax and H&R Block are telling me that I don't owe any taxes to OK for 2020.  I've altered and ran the program several times trying to list myself as both a non-resident and part-time resident....and still they say that I don't owe anything to OK.   Only when I change myself to a full-time resident (which I'm not) does it say I owe money.  H&R Block will allow me to go into the form and manually change my income over to OK as a non-resident (but not as a part time resident) and show an amount owed, but then I'm no longer allowed to e-file the return because I did a manual over-ride of their program that they don't agree with.  

I'm also given a VERY stern warning that if I turn it in this way, I would be admitting guilt of underpaying taxes to the state (??) and would have to pay multiple penalties on top of what I already owe.

TurboTax doesn't allow me to do this, but it may be because I'm using their free version (?).  

I'm just not sure what to do and feel like I'm missing something that's pretty obvious to everyone else.