Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

NY State taxes my Social Security, military retirement and investment income, all earned while a permanent resident in FL

I am a permanent resident in FL since December 2017.  I own no property in NY, and have not maintained a residence in NY since 2018.  I have not been in NY since 2018 except for 3 days in Feb 2019.  I work remotely in NY (W-2 income) from my home in FL.  In TurboTax, my NY return includes Social Security income for  my wife and me, my military retirement income and our investment income, all earned exclusively in FL.  The NY return calculates a "New York adjusted gross income" equal to about 3 times my total W-2 income in NY, adjusts out a standard deduction and declares that I have "New York taxable income" almost 3 times my total W-2 income in NY.  The return calculates the fraction of my W-2 income divided by this phony "New York taxable income" and applies that fraction to a "base tax" taken from a table based on my "New York adjusted gross income."  Am I doing something wrong?  As a full-time non-resident, do I really have to pay NY income tax on income earned entirely outside of NY?  Please help.  Thank you.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

NY State taxes my Social Security, military retirement and investment income, all earned while a permanent resident in FL

New York includes your total income to calculate your tax rate as awesome Tax Expert @MaryK1101 said.

You are then taxed on the New York income percentage of the total tax that a full-year resident would pay. That is shown on lines 44 to 46 of your New York tax return.