Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Erik21
Returning Member

New York State Military Part-time Resident?

I'm a resident of NYS and also a military reservist in the same city who was activated Mid February 2021 OCONUS until Mid February 2022. I completed 20 drill days from Jan 2021 to before I left, about $4k while living in NYS. It is worth noting the $4k are from DFAS-Cleveland, a federal agency.

I lived with my parents and recently moved back in. When abroad, I lived in base housing that contained a kitchen and bathroom that I had to actively maintain.

1) When turbotax asks me how much of my 2021 income was earned while living in NYS, do I just put the $4k?

2) Is my residency full-time since I spent over 30 days living in NYS or part-time? If part-time, what would the time period? This part is confusing.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
ThomasM125
Expert Alumni

If New York was your residence before you left on military service, then all of your income would be considered earned in New York. The only way the income would be considered earned out of state is if you changed your residence to another state. As a member of the military, your state of record is considered your residence state while you are away on military service.

So, your residency is full-time in New York and all of your income belongs there.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Erik21
Returning Member

That makes sense.

Now if I want to file for non-residency, I may fit into group A but the 30 days of residence in state concern me.