turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Multi-state tax issue

I'm a resident of Alabama but work and live part-time in Tennessee.  My employer, who is located in South Carolina, is taking SC income taxes from my check. I asked that they take Alabama but for some reason, they don't think they can do so. I don't think I should be paying SC income taxes as I'm not working in SC. Am I right in thinking they shouldn't be taking SC taxes?  If so, is there something I can provide to my employer to have this changed?

Thanks so much.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Multi-state tax issue

When you file your income taxes next year, you will file a return for South Carolina and a return for Alabama.  Tennessee does not have state income tax.

You will show that you paid taxes to South Carolina and assign those taxes back to Alabama.  When it asks what percentage of the income was earned in South Carolina, you will put zero.  You will then put 100% for Alabama on the Alabama return.

Just remember to do your non-resident state first.  That way TurboTax will compute this correctly.  

You are correct that your employer should be withholding  taxes for Alabama.  If they make that correction, you will not have to file two state returns in future years.

The law is that you cannot be forced to pay more than one state for the same income.  No double taxation is allowed. 

View solution in original post

9 Replies

Multi-state tax issue

When you file your income taxes next year, you will file a return for South Carolina and a return for Alabama.  Tennessee does not have state income tax.