turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

DCbound

I am a DC resident, but Virginia state income tax is deducted from my paycheck. Do I still have to file DC taxes? If no, then what tax documents do I need to file in DC?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply

I am a DC resident, but Virginia state income tax is deducted from my paycheck. Do I still have to file DC taxes? If no, then what tax documents do I need to file in DC?

OK...the answer is yes, you need to file a DC tax return...if you were a resident of DC in 2019.

Here's the thing.  VA and DC (and several other states in your area) have what is called a "Reciprocal tax agreement" where some of the states surrounding DC, and DC, agree to not assess an income tax on residents of one of the the other states if the individual crosses the border to work a W-2 job in the other state.

Thus, a resident of DC who crosses into VA daily to work a W-2 job, should only be assessed with DC tax withholding in boxes 15-to-17 of their W-2.  Likewise, a VA resident crossing into DC to work a W-2 job, should only be taxed VA state taxes.

But with that agreement in place, you needed to certify you were a DC resident with the VA Employer.  That is a form VA-4 with box 3 checked  (your employer's payroll or HR department should have these forms)....but here's a copy:

https://www.tax.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/taxforms/withholding/any/va-4-any.pdf

...AND...if the VA employer can withhold DC taxes, you should also give them a form D-4 to start DC withholding. (DC hasn't been good about having updated D-4 forms. check with your employer).