turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to fill in IT-112-R for MA to NY relocation but continuing to work for same MA employer remotely, who only withheld MA state income tax?

I moved from MA to NY last year and continued working for same MA employer who only withheld MA tax for the whole year. I'm having trouble filling out form IT-112-R. Should column A show all income earned for the year (MA wages, interest income, etc) and column B only the income that should be taxable by NY for the period I was a resident, which was instead taxed by MA ? What does this look like for interest income that wasn't actually taxed - do I allocate part of it to NY in column B based on number of days as resident ? And should the resulting tax credit to NY for MA taxes paid be less than what is owed to NY given the higher tax rate relative to MA?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

How to fill in IT-112-R for MA to NY relocation but continuing to work for same MA employer remotely, who only withheld MA state income tax?

Several questions here, so I will try to answer the different questions involved.  

First, with regards to the IT-112-R, this form will be filled out properly once you allocate your income.  First, prepare the Massachusetts nonresident/part-year return, since all of the income is taxed there, since it was all earned there (Massachusetts' new telecommuter policy to use the "convenience" principal that New York has used for years is why all of the income is taxed there).  Be sure that if NY appears on your W2, that you mark that the NY-marked income on the W2 is not considered as taxable in MA (double-reported).