Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Double-taxed income as a part-time resident in NJ

For context, I lived in NYC for 10 months and then moved to NJ while continuing to work in NYC for 2 months. I've already set up a part-time resident return for both NY and NJ, but I'm a bit confused about how to handle the double-taxed income that comes from the period of time in which I was a NJ resident but working in NYC  and this results in two main questions:

1. On the "Tell us about your New Jersey income" part of the interview for the NJ state return, the total income on W-2 shown is a lot higher than my reported federal wages. I can see that the number comes from the total wages worksheet as a sum of state wages. For example, if my reported federal wage is $120,000, then my NY wage is also $120,000 while my NJ wage is $20,000 because I only lived 2/12 months in NJ. In this hypothetical example, the total wages worksheet would calculate my total income as $140,000. In reading how the process works for a full-time NJ resident that works in NYC, it seems like there's an option to exclude the duplicate state wages that I don't seem to get in the interview as a part-time NJ resident. Is it fine to leave it as-is? Or is this a bug and I need to go into the total wages worksheet and exclude my NJ wages to make the total income more realistic?
  2. On the "Tell us about the money you earned in New York" part of the interview for the NJ state return, it asks for the "double-taxed income while a resident of New Jersey" and I don't know which amount to put. I can either put the NY non-resident portion of the income (A) or the NJ reported income (B). They're close, but A + FSA contributions while living in NJ = B.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?