Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

CA 540NR Other income must be entered error because of HSA contribution

My W2 box 16 includes HSA contribution ( box 1 + box 12 Code W).

I am a part-year California resident so I need to submit CA 540 NR form

I get the wanring of Check This Entry Other income must be entered error when I fill the CA state fax

Below is an example: 

In my CA W2:

Box 1: 10000

Box 12 code W(HSA): 2000

Box 16: 12000

540 NR

Part II ' Income Adjustment Schedule

Section A ' Income from Form 1040 or 1040-SR

Col: C: Additions
D:TotalCaliforniaAmounts using CA rules as if you are the resident
E: CaliforniaAmounts

line 1 Total amount from federal Form(s) W-2, box  in Col E: 12000

line 1 h Other earned income: both Col C and Col D are 2000 but Col E is empty so I get this warning message: Other income must be entered
line 1 z Add line 1a through line: The amount in Col E is the same as line 1 a Col E. 12000

Question1: Why did Turbotax fill line 1 a Col E with Box 16 12000 instead of Box1: 10000 in my w2?
Question2: line 1 z Col E amount is the same as line 1a Col E, which means I can not add any other income in line 1h Col E?
Because If I add 2000 in line 1h Col E, Line1 z Col E (add line 1a through line) should be 12000 + 2000 = 14000. However 1 z Col E is 12000 so I think this it is incorrect?

Can I know how to resolve this issue.
Thank you for your time. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
BillM223
Expert Alumni

"Is there any way I can check the form before I file it. "