turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Julia-B

As a realtor, I often rebate part of my commission to buyers. My 1099 is for the income I received (after deducting the rebate).Can I still claim the rebate on my taxes?

For example, if I received $4050 in commission but rebated $1050 toward buyers closing costs (disclosed on settlement statement), I only got a check for $3000 at closing.  The $3000 was the only amount included on my 1099.  Can I still claim the $1050 as a rebate?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

As a realtor, I often rebate part of my commission to buyers. My 1099 is for the income I received (after deducting the rebate).Can I still claim the rebate on my taxes?

No, because you would be claiming an expense that was never included in your income.  You'd have to include the rebate in income for you to be able to expense it.  Here's the alternative way, which amounts to exactly the same thing:  Commission income $4,050, commission rebate $1,050, net income $3,000. 

Honda0810

Hi I have a great  question  in connection to previous question

What 1099 form should would we use when providing a credit rebate to home buyer ? My commission check was $4000 and title company didn't apply $3000 toward the closing cost disclosure so I wrote a check to buyer after. What form should they fill out ?

TomD8
Level 15

@Honda0810 — No 1099 is issued to a buyer who is given a commission rebate.  That’s because a commission rebate is not considered taxable income to the buyer.  It is instead considered an adjustment in the price of the home.  When the buyer sells the home in the future, he should subtract the rebate amount from his cost basis in the property.