Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

rdefeo1

2020 Tax Return: Massachusetts Non-Resident Apportionment

I am a NH resident who's place of business is located in MA.  Due to the Covid-19 crisis I have been working from home since March.  Can I apportion the days I work in NH vs MA and only pay MA taxes on the days I physically worked in MA.  I know MA was trying  to pass a rule against it this year and NH has sued to stop them.  In the meantime how do I fill out my MA tax return?  TurboTax still has the Apportionment section.  Anyone know for sure?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
KathrynG3
Expert Alumni

The income should be apportioned as if you were still commuting to Massachusetts.

From Massachusetts Form 1 Instructions, page 3:

2020 Revised Guidance on the Massachusetts Tax Implications of an Employee Working Remotely due to the COVID-19 Pandemic

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, several states, including Massachusetts, have declared a state of emergency, and many businesses have implemented work-from-home requirements for their employees in response to government orders and public health recommendations.

Due to Massachusetts’ COVID-19 state of emergency for tax year 2020, all compensation paid to non-residents, who would generally perform such services in Massachusetts but for a Pandemic-Related Circumstance, will continue to be treated as Massachusetts source income subject to Massachusetts personal income tax.