turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

2023headaches
Returning Member

Nonresident vs resident tax situation, 2 different states filing

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to assist me with this issue. I'm a resident of MD, and I worked at an office in PA, for part of 2023. These states do have a reciprocity agreement, which I'm not totally clear on. The company I worked for deducted income tax for PA erroneously, until I corrected the issue. Specifically, my W-2 shows $40,000 total federal wages, and then in the state section, $32,000 state wages for MD ($2,450 income tax), and $8,000 ($250 income tax) state wages for PA. I know I'll need to file a $0 income nonresident return for PA (most likely through their state website), but I want to know how to input the correct information for MD. I'll be reporting the $0 income for PA to get the $250 income tax refunded fully, but wasn't sure whether I report $32,000 or the full $40,000 as my state wages for MD. Total federal wages are $40,000, so I should just report that exactly as it is written, for my federal return, correct? Can you please help me with entering the correct information in Turbotax? I believe I should enter the nonresident state first? I can go through the MD or PA state websites if that's easier and only file federal through Turbotax. Thank you for your help!
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

You will report the full $40,000 to MD.

You are correct, you will file a $0 return for PA to claim your refund and yes, you can do this through TurboTax or on the MyPath web

site, you will just need to create an account.