Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

barussel22
Returning Member

MI Tax Underpayment Situation - Penalty?

2023 Michigan Desktop Premier version is telling me I may owe an underpayment penalty for 2022. I saw another reply indicating that this was specific to non-resident filers and social security calculations. I am a MI resident, so that is not the cause for me. Why is it trying to get me to calculate an underpayment penalty?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

11 Replies
DawnC
Expert Alumni

Have you entered all of your income, withholdings, and estimated tax payments?   Michigan:  Penalty and interest is charged for the following reasons:

• Estimated payments were underpaid in one or more quarters
  • Estimated payments were received late
         Note: Payments that are not received by the due date will be applied to the following estimated tax quarter
  • No estimated payments were received
  • You received income unevenly during the year and did not annualize your income

The Michigan Department of Treasury follows the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) guidelines for estimated tax requirements. Based on the IRS estimated income tax requirements, to avoid penalty and interest for underpaid estimates, your total tax paid through credits and withholding must be:

• 90% of your current year's tax liability or
  • 100% of the previous year's tax liability or
  • 110% of your previous year's tax liability if your previous year's adjusted gross income is more than $150,000 ($75,000 for married filing separately)

Penalty is 25% for failing to file estimated payments or 10% of underpaid tax per quarter. Interest is 1% above the prime rate.