Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

MD resident, VA LLC - file in both states?

Hello

I'm a physician and live in Maryland (MD), and my office is also in MD. My practice is part of a group that's an LLC with a Virginia (VA) address. I'm a limited partner in the LLC and my receive a K-1 1065 with compensation in box 4.

Am I correct that I have to file an MD return (since I'm an MD resident) but also have to file a non-resident VA return because the LLC is based in VA? It looks like the MD/VA reciprocity agreement doesn't apply in my case?

Thanks for in advance for any help.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DavidS127
Expert Alumni

Yes, you have Virginia source income and must file a VA nonresident tax return according to the Virginia instructions for Nonresidents at this link:

"Virginia source income includes income passed through from a partnership, S corporation or limited liability company that does business in Virginia."

And yes, the reciprocity does not apply because the K-1 income is not considered wages.

Note, however, that you are eligible for a credit on your Maryland resident tax return for the taxes you pay to Virginia on the "same dollar of income".

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

3 Replies
DavidS127
Expert Alumni

Yes, you have Virginia source income and must file a VA nonresident tax return according to the Virginia instructions for Nonresidents at this link: