turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Brookelyn

I'm a partner in a LLC that's legally formed address is in KS. However, our brick-n-mortar office is in MO and is where I work. Which state(s) do I file? I live in MO.

The KS address is the home address of one of our owners and is the address we used on all the forming of the business documentation.  However, our office is in Missouri and that's where I drive to and work from everyday. I am also a resident of Missouri. Did I make money in Missouri or Kansas (because our LLC is a Kansas business)?  Do I need to file both state returns?  Which one do I report as the state that I made money in; KS or MO?  TurboTax automatically makes me file a state return for MO because it's my resident state.  My K1 has the Kansas address on it only.  Please help!
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

I'm a partner in a LLC that's legally formed address is in KS. However, our brick-n-mortar office is in MO and is where I work. Which state(s) do I file? I live in MO.

For your personal taxes, you only file Missouri.  Kansas did repeal it's pass-through entity exemption, but it still doesn't affect you as a nonresident.  From a very respected organization comes this excerpt:  

Kansas nonresident Withholding Requirements