Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a resident of AZ, living in MA, employed in NH. I will not be a resident of MA for this calendar year. I am currently paying income tax in MA. What do I do/fix?

I moved to Massachusetts in September. The house I am staying at is not in my name. I do not plan on filing as a resident until next year as if I understand correctly I have to be in a state for 183 days to be considered a resident. I am working in New Hampshire and the state income tax coming out of my paychecks are being paid to MA. Should I switch this to be paid towards AZ state income tax? Also what do I do about the amount that has already been paid. Is there any other information that I should know or might be helpful? Any help is greatly appreciated.  
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

I am a resident of AZ, living in MA, employed in NH. I will not be a resident of MA for this calendar year. I am currently paying income tax in MA. What do I do/fix?

Hal_Al
Level 15

Unless your stay in MA, is temporary (you intended to return to AZ, in September, and still intend to return), you became a MA resident in Sept.  The 183 day rule doesn't apply.  The MA withholding is correct. 

For 2023, you file as a part year resident, in both AZ and MA. 

Hal_Al
Level 15

My reply, above,  was edited.

TomD8
Level 15