Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

sushi_lover_100
Returning Member

How to report sale of NR rental property in South Carolina state return

I am a resident of MA and sold a rental property in SC this past year.

I filed an i-290 with SC and the at the sale, they withheld taxes as 7% of recognized gain.

In turbotax, I reported the sale of rental property on my federal return, which showed up as a capital gain after taking the 1099-S value and subtracting the cost basis.

1) How can I report the sale's gain on my SC state turbotax return so that it is properly related to the "Sale of Non-Resident withholding" (ie i-290) amount that I entered on the SC form?

I tried to input the gain as a capital gain in the SC return, but that made it a 5% cap gain, and my MA return sees it as 5% income and says it is not creditable.

2) How can I have my MA return properly reflect the SC tax paid so I don't pay tax twice on my SC sale?

Thanks!

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

South Carolina and Massachusetts start with federal income so you should not adjust the capital gain.

The 7% withholding on Form I-290 is a standard withholding amount. It’s not the actual tax due. It’s the same principal as withholding on a W-2. Your actual tax is different because you get a refund or have to pay because you withheld too much or too little.

Enter the withholding as additional withholding.

1. Type estimated tax payments in Search in the upper right
  2. Select Jump to estimated tax payments
  3. Go to Other Income Taxes Paid in 2021
  4. Select Withholding not already entered on a W-2 or 1099 and enter the amount from Form I-290. 
**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post