Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How do I get refunded on the taxes as a NY resident but working in CT, if I am getting double taxed by both NY and CT?

Hi,

I am looking for some suggestions and steps that should be taken before filing taxes.

I have moved to Connecticut for my first job from NY. I am originally from NYC and am a NY resident. Currently I am paying taxes for both states, which arouses some questions:

- Because I am working in CT, shouldn’t I be refunded the NY tax? How much do we get credited, is it the entire tax charge? When do we get credited, is it with our tax return?
- Do I pay NY tax because I am a NY resident or Do I pay CT tax because I am working in CT?
- What needs to be done or which form needs to be filled out to process this credit?
- What does withholding taxes for a state mean?

In gist what steps must be taken to avoid the second state tax that is being paid on every pay intervals and how to get a refund on these taxes.

Any suggestion helps, thanks!
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

How do I get refunded on the taxes as a NY resident but working in CT, if I am getting double taxed by both NY and CT?

When did you move to CT?  Did you live there for all of 2023? Which state do you actually live in and which state do you work in? "I have moved to Connecticut for my first job from NY.......Do I pay NY tax because I am a NY resident or Do I pay CT tax because I am working in CT?"