turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can I file both a resident and non-resident return for the state of New Jersey? What steps do I need to take in Turbo Tax to allow this to happen?

I was active duty military with a home of record of New Jersey who has been stationed outside of NJ for many years. In past years I met the three requirements, to file as a Non-Resident.

1) I paid for and  maintained a domicile outside of NJ.

2) I did not maintain any property or home in NJ

3) I spent less than 30 days in the state.

In August, I left the military and changed my domicile back to NJ and started a new job so I am now a resident. Due to the following language out of this tax bulletin,(https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git6.pdf:(

Part-Year Resident/Part-Year Nonresident

If, as a result of a change of your domicile, you met the definition of New Jersey resident or nonresident for only part of the year, you are a resident for part of the year (part-year resident) and a nonresident for the remainder of that year (part-year nonresident).

According to the above bulletin I need to file both a Non-Resident and Resident Tax Return. However, I am unable to do so in Turbo Tax. If I try to start a Non-Resident return, Turbo Tax tries to attribute all my withholdings from my new job, giving me too large of a return. And then I cannot start another return as it says I already have started an NJ return. If I try to start a resident first I cannot remove my military pay which is not attributable to NJ, and therefore makes me pay too high of taxes.

This issue is driving me bonkers. Any help would be appreciated.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
IreneS