Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Am I required to file a state tax return in Oklahoma, even if I am a bona fide resident overseas?

I filed a Federal income tax return for 2016 and claimed the bona fide foreign residence (and it was accepted).

However, while I am abroad long-term I have a tie to Oklahoma (driver's license, bank account, my foreign university considers Oklahoma to be my domicile).

I did not file a state return in OK because I had no income there.

I was not aware, when I filed my 2016 federal return, that I could possibly be required to file a state return in Oklahoma as well.

But now looking at the rules, I am confused.  It seems like I might have to file a state return, but I can't figure out anything for certain. I am not sure where I will be living in a few years time, whether it be abroad or in the US, but I don't intend on living long-term in Oklahoma, at all. But I always have family whose doors are open to me in Oklahoma and right now my university overseas has my home address on file as my OK address. But in the literature they do not mention Oklahomans living abroad, so I don't know if I am a resident, non-resident, or what?

Furthermore, I cannot find out anywhere if OK allows for the foreign earned income exclusion. It is in none of the legislation that I can find. Do they?

If I find out I should have filed a return, how bad is it that I am now so late for 2016? If I have to file I obviously will - better late than never! But it would be an honest mistake on my part as I didn't know about the possibility of a filing requirement until now, but I've never filed a late return before so I don't know what could happen.