turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

alo2019
Returning Member

1099 for remote work in various states

I work remotely as an independent contractor from Maryland for clients in DC, MA, and CA. I am a video editor. Do I have to file as a nonresident in MA and CA? I have been paying estimated taxes in MD but now am realizing since the majority of my freelance work is for out of state clients I probably owe to those states instead. I guess I will pay to CA and MA at tax time and get a refund from MD? I know the general rule is that if you don't go to the other states for the work, you don't owe but sounds like maybe CA and MA are exceptions?

Thanks

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
TomD8
Level 15

CA may well be an exception.

Due to a 2019 court ruling (known as the Bindley  decision), the income of sole proprietors providing services to clients in California may indeed be subject to California taxation, even if the service provider is a non-resident of CA and never performed any work in CA.

You can read the details here:  https://www.coblentzlaw.com/california-office-of-tax-appeals-gives-precedential-authority-to-bindley...

Therefore if you receive a 1099-MISC from a California-based client, the State of California may be looking for you to file a non-resident CA tax return for that income.

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
HelenC12
Expert Alumni

@katie-turnbloom

@TomD8 is correct. You may have to file a CA income tax return. Per CA.gov: As a nonresident, you pay tax on your taxable income from California sources.