Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

SEP IRA

Last year we paid for the level of tax service that gets us CPA level tax advice. 

I'm a CPA but I don't keep up with taxes. I'm a mortgage guy.

So I know enough to be dangerous. 

I tried to google this issue but can't find a reliable answer. 

QUESTION: 

background first: my wife and I are both self employed.

we're married filing jointly. no dependents. no other special tax considerations. 

we own our own separate companies. 

both S corps. we each own 100% of our own company.

the scenario is for 2020 and 2021; but if you have to base it on 2019 I'm ok with that. I'm trying to get a rough idea for planning purposes. 

Assume my business will profit $500k before wages. 

Geneva's business will profit $250k before wages. 

each company has only ourselves as an employee- ie., one employee/owner company.

we are not otherwise employed. 

Can we each set up a SEP IRA or are we restricted by an overlapping rule/stop gap? 

How much can we contribute? 

Dave (me) I'm age 54, Geneva - spouse - is age 47. 

I understand I can contribute up to 25% of wages paid up to $60,000 for Dave (catchup provision) . 

does this assume I have to pay myself W2 wages of $240,000 to be able to save $60,000? 

eg., if I only pay myself wages of $200k I can only put max of $50k in my SEP? 

Can I pay myself wages of $100k, company profit (after wages) of $300k and still contribute $60k to the SEP? - you know... to avoid unnecessary payroll taxes? 

What about Geneva? If I pay myself $240k wages and pay $60 of that to my SEP, what can she save for retirement? 

Thank you. 

If it's easier, faster to call me to discuss; please do so. [phone number removed]

David[last name removed]