turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

IRS allows SEP deduction when W2 says retirement plan. But can't so this in TurboTax!

Hi,

Thanks for looking at my question!

I've had a self-directed SEP-IRA, and Individual 401k, as well as my regular qualified plans. I am a consultant who works as a 1099 or at companies without retirement plans. 

My tax accountant friends say that the IRS will still allow deductions if a have a W2 stating "retirement plan". I joined a consulting company in Sept 2019 and they now let me contribute to a 401k.

Using TurboTax, I expected there was a way to say "contribute to SEP/indiv 401k with retirement plan at new company" or something. But it won't allow that. It says IRS rules won't allow any SEP deductions even if I joint a retirement plan company on Dec 30th.

I had to file an extension, and deposit into my SEP account anyway, in case I missed the filing window.

Please clarify.

Thanks,

L

P.S. I used to use Self-Employed version last year, but I was looking at the Deluxe version when it said I couldn't do it. Will Self-Employed make it work?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
SusanY1
Expert Alumni

IRS allows SEP deduction when W2 says retirement plan. But can't so this in TurboTax!

It sounds like you may be entering your SEP contribution in the section in TurboTax for Traditional IRAs OR that you haven't yet entered your income and expenses for TurboTax to determine the allowable amount of a SEP contribution.