Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

Does Form 1116 Line 18 calculate correctly? The IRS instructions allow adjustments to be made for qualified dividends yet the system does not appear to do this. Thoughts?

I am in the process of preparing my 2023 tax return and came upon this chain of messages.  I likewise have an issue with line 18.  Based on my situation I know that I must use the worksheet to calculate the amount for line 18.  I have been using Turbotax (desktop version) for many years and every year I prepare the worksheet and manually override the amount on line 18.  In my situation the rational for needing to complete the worksheet is very straightforward.  I would think that Turbotax could use the same logic and automatically make the necessary calculations so that the amount on line 18 is correct.

Does Form 1116 Line 18 calculate correctly? The IRS instructions allow adjustments to be made for qualified dividends yet the system does not appear to do this. Thoughts?

Hi,

I need help as a first-time user. I have 1116 forms for the General income category and Passive income category.

Reviewing generated 1116 forms I saw line18 does not have a worksheet, even though I know I do have to make adjustments. For tax calculation "Qual Div/Cap Gn" was used, however, line 18 simply takes value from line 15 form 1040.  Also, for passive income category,1116 form does not make adjustments for qualified dividends and capital gains. Can somebody tell me:

1. how I can trigger/create a worksheet for line 18 on forms 1116