turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

If retired and only have SSI, annuities and investments for income, and live in two states equal time, can I chose which state to be resident state?

We are retired and are snowbirds between Michigan, 6 mo and Oklahoma, 6 mo.   Michigan taxes retired people less than Oklahoma.  I have been an Oklahoma resident on my federal taxes.  Can I change my resident status to Michigan for better tax treatment?  I have been filing partial year residency in both states, allocating my income according to my time living in each state.  But the questions presume that the moves are permanent and not temporary, leaving me to question if I am filing correctly.  What defines my residency?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MichaelMc

If retired and only have SSI, annuities and investments for income, and live in two states equal time, can I chose which state to be resident state?

Residency is based on the concept of domicile. Your domicile is the place where you have family connections, lived and/or worked, belong to a house of worship, and, most importantly, the place to which you intend to return after you have been away. Once you have domicile somewhere, it remains until you move away and abandon the intent to return