turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can I make a large SEP-IRA contribution using W-2 income? I'm an independent contractor and it's from a NQSO. I paid FICA taxes. Boxes 11,12 are empty on my W-2.

Presumably, I would adjust Non-Farm Self-Employment Income to my W-2 amount. Any insight on this would be hugely appreciated.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
ThomasM125
Employee Tax Expert

Can I make a large SEP-IRA contribution using W-2 income? I'm an independent contractor and it's from a NQSO. I paid FICA taxes. Boxes 11,12 are empty on my W-2.

You can only make a SEP-IRA contribution through your employer. If your income is reported on a W-2 form, only the company that issued the W-2 could contribute money to a SEP-IRA set up on your behalf. You may be able to make a deductible contribution to your own IRA, however.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thanks for the thoughtful answer. It's only some of my income. I have other income. 

How about a Solo 401k then? I guess what I'm not getting past is that I am not employed by the company. Have't been for years. Why can't I contribute as my own employer? 

AmyC
Employee Tax Expert

The Small Business and Self-Employed Tax Center includes Retirement Plans. If you have positive business income you can contribute. Choose a plan that suits your business and go for it! Both links have great information.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
message box icon

Get more help

Ask questions and learn more about your taxes and finances.