Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can I file a 1099 every 3 months?

I work as a therapist and am self-employed how do I file taxes now so it does not come out to too much at the end of the year
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
dmertz
Level 15

See the following IRS web page regarding making estimated tax payments:

https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/estimated-taxes

A 1099 is a report of income that may be sent to you by certain customers or clients.  You include the income on your tax return but you don't "file" it yourself.  (If, in the course of your business, you pay a client or vendor or subcontractor more than $600, you may be required to issue them a 1099, but you do this at the end of the year (after Dec 31 and before Jan 31).

You file one tax return for the whole year.  This will be a form 1040, and if you have certain kinds of small businesses, you might also include a schedule C to report business income and expenses.  But you only do this once for the whole year.

What you need to do is make estimated tax payments, they are due April 15, June 15, September 15, and January 15, which covers taxes due on the previous quarter's income.  You can make the payments directly at www.irs.gov/payments.  For help estimating how much those payments should be, you can use form 1040-ES, or various accounting web sites or business accounting software like Quickbooks. 

Yes you should send in estimated payments 1040-ES so you don't end up owing too much or get hit with a penalty.