Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

mww42

Can I contribute to both SEP and Roth 401K as a small business owner with no employee? What is the maximum amount I can contribute?

I want to have both SEP & Roth 401K. In Turbotax, when I checked "max contribution" box for SEP, it showed -$7736 on Retirement Deduction Results page, but when I put in same amount manually, it does not. Does it mean I cannot contribute to both SEP IRA and Roth 401K, or I contributed too much to one of them? I am a small business owner with no employee and have about $15000 income. I was going to contribute $12000 to Roth 401K and $3000 to SEP.  I understand that that I am able to have both. Please help. Thank you.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Can I contribute to both SEP and Roth 401K as a small business owner with no employee? What is the maximum amount I can contribute?

Yes. You can make contributions to both a SEP and a Solo 401K  Plan.

There are limitations on both however based on a percentage of your income you are reporting on the Sch C business.

The employer side of the solo 401(k) contribution is limited to 25% of total business income for the year.

SEP accounts are less well-known and are generally used by self-employed individuals and small businesses. SEP stands for "simplified employee pension," and all contributions are considered to be from the employer. The overall contribution limit is $54,000 for the year or 25% of the employee's compensation -- whichever is less.