Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

sharisa77

Filing taxes in Colorado, military spouse

My husband and I are both residents of Hawaii. He and I pcs'd from Hawaii to Colorado in 2017. I am also working in Colorado right now and Im paying colorado taxes from my paycheck. We filed our taxes and I only filed for federal and Hawaii returns. People are telling me that I did it wrong and that I was supposed to file for Colorado too even though Im a resident of Hawaii. Can someone give me insight on this?nWhen I put in all my information from my W'2s into turbo tax, it didnt say anything about filing for Colorado. 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
Carl
Level 15

In addition to your joint federal return and your joint HI state return (since both of you are HI residents, you should have also filed a CO non-resident return for your income only. Then HI state gives you a credit for any taxes paid to CO.

If the same is true for your 2018 taxes, then you don't file "ANY" return until you have completed 'ALL" returns and are satisfied with the results. Additionally for 2018 you complete all non-resident returns first, and do the resident state return last. This is so the program will figure things correctly in crediting your HI tax return for any CO taxes paid.

Now, when did you start working in CO in 2017 and exactly what was the gross income from the state of CO? Additionally, you very well may be exempt not only from paying CO state taxes, but also from having any CO state taxes withheld from your CO earned pay. See https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/DR1059.pdf