turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Ohio Tax military credit

I am an Ohio permanent resident, and active-duty stationed in Texas. 

On the Ohio IT 1040, I checked that I am a Full-Time Resident of Ohio.  

I entered my W2 military pay on Schedule A, Line 26 which is for 'Military pay received by Ohio residents while stationed outside Ohio'.

I am getting an error message that says:

"Schedule A, Line 26: Military pay received by Ohio residents should be blank.  You indicated that you are a Nonresident of Ohio.  You cannot claim the Military deduction that is allowed for a full-time Ohio resident."

Is this an programming error in TurboTax or am I doing something wrong? 

Please advise what I need to do.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Ohio Tax military credit

This issue is definitely a Turbo-Tax programming error within the Ohio part of the TurboTax Premium program.

The problem occurs when filing jointly and the primary person (the member of the Military) is an Ohio Resident stationed outside of Ohio, but the spouse is a resident of  another state. 

In our case, I am an Ohio Resident stationed in Texas and my spouse is a Texas resident. 

Ohio does not tax military pay received by Ohio residents while stationed outside Ohio.

Apparently TurboTax is erroneously overriding my status to Non-Resident (my spouse's status), and consequently disallows deducting my Texas earnings from Ohio Income.

This even occurs if the spouse had no earnings. I tested this by temporarily deleting her W2's.

The error disappears if I change the spouse status to be an Ohio resident.  I tested this.