turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I was a California Resident serving as active duty military in North Carolina until July 20th, 2019. When I got out of the military on July 20th, I remained in North Carolina, working, and am still he

When I got out of the military on July 20th, I remained in North Carolina, working, and am still here. How should I file my residency?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply

I was a California Resident serving as active duty military in North Carolina until July 20th, 2019. When I got out of the military on July 20th, I remained in North Carolina, working, and am still he

You would be a part-year resident of CA and part-year resident of NC.

Your CA residency lock that you maintained while in the military ended when you separated.  Your separation date on you DD 214 is the date you became a NC Resident since you remained in NC to live and work. 

Normally, a military person has something like ~120 days (+ or - 30 days) to reestablish themselves in their home state without changing their residency...but if they don't return to their home state, they become a resident of whatever state they settled in after they separated service......you've settled in NC, at least for tax purposes.

On the MyInfo page (Online software.   for desktop software it's the "Personal Info" page) you will indicate you were a resident of NC on 31 Dec 2019, and that you "moved" from CA on the date of separation from the military  (YES, you lived in another state in 2019...that's CA while in the military).