Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Reporting covered call transaction without a 1099B form. Provided with a 1042-S form instead with no information about capital gains.

My employer stock and retirement funds are with Fidelity and due to confusion about being perceived to be a non-resident for tax purposes, I've been receiving a 1042-S form for the past 2 years. Unfortunately, in 2022 I also made an option transaction as follows:

• Sold a call contract on 08/24 and received a premium of $22.31
  • From this amount, a $5.35 tax was withheld (at a rate of 24% I believe). The rest of the amount was transferred to the cash part of my portfolio
  • I bought back the contract on 08/26 for $4.03 and made a net profit of $18.28

This transaction isn't reflected on the 1042-S. Fidelity doesn't seem to have a clue as to whether I'll receive a tax document with this transaction or not. Some representatives think I will receive a grantor letter showing this, while some say the letter won't show this. Some also say that the transaction has not been reported to the IRS and that I won't receive a grantor letter, which seems insane to think about.

My questions are these:

1. What is a grantor letter in this case and does it apply to me? If it does and I receive it, how do I use it to file taxes on TurboTax premium?