Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

DST questions, property in Alabama

Hi all

2020 was the first time I did a DST/1031 exchange.  I got my DTS papers from the qualified intermediary and a 2020 Year-end Tax Information from the DTS. 

I have a few questions about what to do now and the steps I took; I would appreciate any feedback if what I am doing is correct:

1.  I added  the DST property in the  "Rental Properties and Royalties" of Turbo Tax , used the information from the DST 2020 "Profit and Loss" report part given to me  (BTW, there was no reported depreciation in the report, not sure if this is typical?) 

2. I reported the exchange on "Sales of business property" section in Turbo Tax 

3. Do I have to file a tax return in Alabama. where the actual property is located? ( I am a resident of Indiana)

Per Turbo Tax, with the information I placed, it calculates that I have a Net Income of $4 ( four dollars)

Thanks for any help

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DianeW777
Expert Alumni

The answers are provided below in the order of your questions.

1. Depreciation Rules

You continue the depreciation as though there was no trade. Then with any extra cash that was paid for the replacement property (the property received in the exchange) you set up a new asset and begin depreciation in 2020 as residential rental property using 27.5 year recovery period (depreciation method).