Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Returning Member

best way to enter depreciation history?

This is my first time using TurboTax after 20+ years of using CPA. I have rental property depreciations from prior years - 2003, 2008, 2013, etc. What data do I need to enter these into TurboTax? I have copies of my tax returns including 4562 forms only since 2006. Will this be sufficient or will I need more data from my CPA? How and where do I enter these data in TurboTax?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
AnnetteB6
Expert Alumni

You will probably need a Depreciation Schedule in order to enter the depreciation as it has been claimed through the years and match the methods, etc.  It is a form similar to a spreadsheet that will show the asset, date placed in service, depreciation method, class life, previous depreciation taken, basis for depreciation and percent of business use.  Those are all the details needed to duplicate the entries from your past returns.

Here is a guide for how to go about entering it into TurboTax in order to duplicate the entries that have been made by the CPA and continue the same depreciation.

• Starting from the Rental Properties and Royalties selection under income, choose Update or Review to get to the details about your rental.
  • Proceed to the Rental and Royalty Summary page, then Edit your rental property.
  • Proceed through the questions until you reach the Review Your ___ Rental Summary page, then Start or Update the Assets/Depreciation section.
  • Proceed to the point where you adding an asset on the page titled Describe This Asset.