turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to Enter a Rental in Turbotax

I have a fundamental question. I'm a Florida resident. From May through October (<180 days) I live in a condo that I own in Virginia.  From November through April (50%) the condo in Virginia is rented out.

A) Is it a vacation home where my deductions are limited to income? Looks like Turbotax sets depreciation to 100% and doesn't allow me to over ride it on the Sch E worksheet.

B) Is it a rental where it's rented 185 days and personal use is 0 days during this interval? I can edit the Asset Depreciation Worksheet to make the depreciation 50%

I need help on how to correctly enter this into the Schedule E worksheet, and if I need to adjust the % business use on the Asset Depreciation Worksheet. I asked earlier, but have two different answers. Trying to just get down to basics - is it a Vacation Home with personal use, or a Rental?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

Do not adjust the business use percentage.

You have a vacation rental and, as a result, your expenses may be limited (and will be limited in your case).

Ensure, absolutely, that you enter both the number of fair rental days and the number of personal use days. The program will adjust the expenses accordingly and, if necessary, limit the available deductions.

Carl
Level 15

I see it a different way.

A) Is it a vacation home where my deductions are limited to income? Looks like Turbotax sets depreciation to 100% and doesn't allow me to over ride it on the Sch E worksheet.

That's because depreciation is 100% *during the period of time it is classified as a rental*