Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

wolf23

Recovery Rebate Tax Credit

Should I claim myself independent so I can receive the rebate for the stimulus checks?

I am a college student who pays for 80% of my stuff. I am on a full ride scholarship. 

How would claiming independent affect Fafsa for my brother who is a college student who has to pay for college. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
HelenC12
Expert Alumni

Check with your parents. If they're claiming you, you won't be able to claim yourself. The IRS states you have to provide over 50% of your own care, in addition to other requirements.

• If you still live at home (living at school counts as living at home).
  • Regarding your own expenses, that includes rent or mortgage, health insurance, homeowners or rental insurance, food, clothing, transportation (auto and auto insurance), etc.

Regarding FAFSA: that's not a tax question and we only answer tax questions. Ask your schools financial aid counselor how it affects FAFSA.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Hal_Al
Level 15

It is not optional. If you qualify as your parent's dependent, you are not allowed to claim yourself and the Rebate Tax Credit, whether they actually claim you or not.

You state "I am a college student who pays for 80% of my stuff. I am on a full ride scholarship".  You do not count scholarships as self support, for the dependent support test.