Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

If I graduated in May does that constitute me being full time student

Graduated May 2nd, does that count at 5 months?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

If you were a full time student for at least 1 day of 5 different months during the year, you qualify as a full time student.

View solution in original post

12 Replies

If you were a full time student for at least 1 day of 5 different months during the year, you qualify as a full time student.

LinaJ2018
Intuit Alumni

Yes.  You will be considered as a full time student.  According to publication 17, you are a full-time student if you are enrolled at a school for the number of hours or classes that the school considers full time. You must be full-time for some part of each of 5 calendar months during the year. (The months need not be consecutive) For claiming the educational benefit purposes, full time is also equivalent to at least half-time that is if the student was taking at least half the normal full-time work load for his or her course of study. The standard for what is half of the normal full-time work load is also determined by each eligible educational institution. 

bouyeac

Yes it would because you were still enrolled for part of the year.

Hi,

What is your opinion, my child is a Full time undergraduate student in the Spring semester ( February -May) then the child will take online only 2 classes-6 credits ( part time September -December) and graduate.