Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

rlberg

Where can I find out how many years of the American Opportunity Credit I have claimed?

I finished my bachelors degree this spring 2015 and don't know how many years I have claimed the American Opportunity Credit.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
IsabellaG
Expert Alumni

Where can I find out how many years of the American Opportunity Credit I have claimed?

If you have copies of your prior year tax returns, you can check them to see how many times you claimed the credit. If you started college in 2011 and were a student for four years in a row, from Fall Semester of 2011 to Spring Semester of 2015, it is  possible that you claimed the American Opportunity Credit  in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014.

If you don't have copies of your prior year tax returns, but you prepared them using TurboTax, you can unlock access to those returns by purchasing PLUS.

https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/2758553-how-to-unlock-prior-year-returns-through-turbotax-online

If you didn't use TurboTax, you can request transcripts of these returns from the IRS.

https://www.irs.gov/uac/Newsroom/Request-a-Transcript-or-Copy-of-a-Prior-Year-Tax-Return

In any case, you would see an entries on line 50 &68 of your 1040  or lines 33 &44 of your 1040-A for years that you claimed the credit.

However, if your parents claimed you as a dependent during any of those years, the credit should have been claimed on their tax return, not yours.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post