turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1098 T Form - Scholarship and Grant Money Exceeds Tuition - What Now?

This is my first year filing as independent and I am lost with the 1098 T form I received from the college I attend. In fall 2020 I received a total of $2547.50 in grants/scholarships and I had $492 left over after tuition was paid, which I used for books. From my understanding, the extra money I had leftover does not have to be included in my taxable income because I used it towards qualified education expenses. When I file my taxes, how do I ensure that $492 I used on books is not included as taxable income?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

12 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

Q. From my understanding, the extra money I had leftover does not have to be included in my taxable income because I used it towards qualified education expenses.

A. That is correct.

Q. When I file my taxes, how do I ensure that $492 I used on books is not included as taxable income?

A. Just don't enter the 1098-T since you know it all comes out even. The 1098-T is only an informational document. The numbers on it are not required to be entered onto your tax return.  Otherwise, follow the TT interview very carefully and enter you book expenses at the book screen.