Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am being asked if this is my first year of school at a college or eligible school as of January 1, 2018. Is that asking if 2018 was my first semester or full year?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
KrisD15
Expert Alumni

I am being asked if this is my first year of school at a college or eligible school as of January 1, 2018. Is that asking if 2018 was my first semester or full year?

The reason the TurboTax program asks if this was the student's first year as of January 1, 2021 is because if it was not, the program will ask if the American Opportunity Tax Credit (AOTC) had been taken in any prior year, and if so, how many times. 

If the answer is "Yes" this was the student's first year, the program knows that the AOTC has not been used yet. 

If you answer "No" the program will go on to ask if the AOTC or Hope Credit (which was from years ago) was used and how many times. This all has to do with the program making sure the credits are not used more than allowed. It would not cause an "error" to select "No" rather than "Yes', but you would be subject to those additional questions about previous usage of the credit.

For the student that started in the Fall of 2021, you could choose either answer, since we know he/you could not have claimed the AOTC for expenses relating to "non-degree seeking" classes. 

As far as the credits for the expenses/time the students were dual enrolled, the payments would need to have been made to the college and the purpose would need to have been part of the requirements of a degree or to improve job skills. 

According to the IRS: