Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a student and my parents were eligible to get an American Opportunity Credit but decided to have me claim it on my return. How do I do that?

The year in question is 2022 and I already filed my return so I need to file an amended return. I am able to get the 1099Q into the return but not the Form 8863 because that form was sent to my parents with their  social security number on it. The input forms are normally looking for the parents information because the credit is normally taken by them. Thae AOC rules do allow for the student to take the credit.
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I am a student and my parents were eligible to get an American Opportunity Credit but decided to have me claim it on my return. How do I do that?

also, AOC is largely based on the numbers displayed on form 1098-T.  (that is the form that would generate form 8863.)

In fact, it is possible that if money was withdrawn from a 529 plan, which is what generates form 1099-Q, you may not be eligible for AOTC. 

best to post what is on form 1099Q and 1098-T.  from that a better answer can be provided. 

Also, how only are you and are your earning less than 50% of your support costs.  and how much did you earn in 2022? 

View solution in original post

Hal_Al
Level 15