Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Education Credit

Has the Hope Scholarship Credit or American Opportunity Credit been claimed for this student for any 4 prior tax years?

So, I had claimed the AOC last year on my 2022 returns. I graduated in the summer '23 and was a full-time student. Do I select 'yes' or 'no'? I would assume 'no' since I only claimed it for 1 year (2022). 
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

Education Credit

If you were claimed as a dependent on a parents' return in any earlier years you should check with them too and see if they used the AOTC for you on a return---since their use of it for you "counts" toward those four times.   As long as it has not been used a total of four times you are good to answer NO.

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**
CatinaT1
Expert Alumni

Education Credit

Correct. You can claim the credit for a total of 4 tax years, but they do not need to be consecutive years. If you have only claimed the credit one time, you would say no.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Education Credit

How far back does this date to? The last time I was in college or university before I returned in 2022 was 2013-2016.

Education Credit