turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Self Employed with an EIN. How do should I be paying tax?

I am an independent contractor/freelancer with no employees. I was recommended by folks at my place of business to sign up for an EIN, which I did. I have been using TurboTax Self Employed to pay my taxes the last two quarters, and am about to pay for the third. I drive for my job so I use it to track miles and expenses and such. The only connections between my EIN registered with the IRS and TurboTax are my name, address and social security number, but on my TurboTax profile I have no place to add in my EIN.

I am wondering whether I am doing this correctly or not. I pay my taxes on time and to my knowledge I have paid and written off the correct amounts in all aspects, business and personal, sometimes even uploading receipts when applicable.

To summarize, I pay my taxes online through TurboTax Self Employed, not on the IRS website, so I am not using my EIN at all. Everything is going through my SSN. Is this the/a correct method or should I be doing something else?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

EINs for sole proprietors (which is what you are) are only necessary for employee payroll purposes (since you dont have employees, you really didn't need one).  You should be making your estimated tax payments using your SSN, not your EIN.   

Sounds like youre doing it correctly.

♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♥Lisa♥ ¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪

View solution in original post

5 Replies