Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Out of state partnership

I am a NJ resident. As a general member of an LLC partnership formed in CT and doing business only in CT, I have been issued a Schedule K-1 (Form 1065) and a Schedule CT K-1 from the partnership. Both the federal and CT state K-1 shows only a loss for 2019.

My questions:

- Since I am a NJ resident, do I have any filing requirement in CT?

- The partnership has not issued a NJK-1 to me but instead, has given me a CT K-1. Do I need to include the CT partnership loss on my NJ State tax return? If yes, how (what line on NJ 1040 or what form)? Any additional filing requirement as a general member of the partnership?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Out of state partnership

Well this does support that position if this is your only K-1:

If a loss is reported to the partner by the partnership or if a loss occurs as a result of adjustments for qualified unreimbursed business expenses, the partner will enter the loss for that partnership on Schedule NJ-BUS-1 and use it to offset income from other partnerships. If the net amount from all partnerships listed on Schedule NJ-BUS-1 is a loss, the partner should make no entry on his/her New Jersey Income Tax return in the category “Distributive Share of Partnership Income.”

*A reminder that posts in a forum such as this do not constitute tax advice.
Also keep in mind the date of replies, as tax law changes.

View solution in original post

12 Replies
DianeC958
Expert Alumni

Out of state partnership

No, you do not need to file a CT tax return.  

You must file a Connecticut income tax return if your gross income for the taxable year exceeds: