turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

MLP & Form 4797 not generated

Hi,

This is my first year using TT.  Prior to this year, a CPA did my taxes.
I own units in an MLP - oil & gas pipeline. I received a K-1 and entered all information into TT per the instructions. , In 2019, Form 4797 was generated  and included an amount from Box 10 on the K-1 (loss).

This loss was added to the loss for my small business on Schedule C and the total entered on Line 7a (other income from Schedule 1) on  my 2019 1040 SR.

But TT did not generate Form 4797 for 2020, yet I also have a loss in Box 10 on the 2020 K-1.
Can someone let me know - do I need Form 4797 and how do I get TT to generate it?

Concerned.

Thanks in advance.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

11 Replies

by definition with an MLP ordinary losses (lines 1 through 3) and 4797 losses are passive and can't be used to offset other income.  if in 2019  there was ordinary income on lines 1 through 3, the 4797 loss up to the amounts on those other lines would be allowed (net effect zero). if both sets of lines showed losses, your CPA messed up. if in 2020 those lines are losses are all losses they are suspended until you either have enough income in future years to offset the losses or you dispose of the MLP. 

I assume you are talking about lines 1- 3 on the 2019 4797?

There is no gain - only a -44 loss.

This loss is coming from Box 10 on the K-1

So I still have the same question:

I also have a loss in Box 10 (net section 1231) of the 2020 K-1 (-92).

So - do I need Form 4797?

Thanks again

I understand they are suspended - but why didnt the form generate?

TY

Hi -